Home

Japan and all that Jazz : Sky Tree (NEW URL)

2 thoughts on “Sky Tree

  1. Thank you for posting this!

    In your opinion, what time of day is better to enjoy Tokyo Skytree: right when it opens in the morning (08:00) or late at night (20:30)?

    If I only have time to visit one level, which one should I aim for?

    Should I purchase the advance ticket (2,500 yen) to avoid lines? The advance ticket only gets me to Tembo Deck (second-highest level).

    For the Tembo Galleria (highest level), I would have to wait in line at the box office but the ticket for that is only 1,000 yen. Do you know any difference in enjoyment between the different levels?

    Thank you.

  2. Hi, thank you for your comment. I think it’s better to go before sunset, wait for the sun to set and then for the lights to go on. That way you get three different views. That’s what we did.

    If you have Japan-issued credit card, and you can afford to wait, then I definitely recommend purchasing online (You need to choose the hour of your visit when you book in advance). I talked to people who queued for 3-5 hours, and the unpredictability of what time you can actually go up is not very appealing to me. I also recommend going to the highest level to maximize your visit. You wouldn’t be able to visit the highest deck again without paying the base fee, after all. Plus, there are much less people on the Tembo Galleria, you can walk around by the window without waiting for people to move over.

Leave a Reply

